Make the Dodecanese island complex your selected destination if you want to have a choice of at least 18 larger islands and as many as 160 smaller ones to opt from. Wrapped enticingly around the shores of Turkey and Asia Minor, the Dodecanese complex constitutes the southernmost group of Greek islands which has a long history of different occupations by the Romans, the Crusaders in the Middle Ages, the Turks and also the Venetians which have all left their mark with significant monuments, temples, castles and fortresses.

At least 25 of the Dodecanese islands are inhabited and their capital is Rhodes island to which you ought to devote various days in order to discover its historical importance. You will be enchanted by its picturesque medieval Old Town, the diversity of its beautiful beaches and also for the settlement of Lindos which offers high standard accommodation services.


INFO: The islands of the Dodecanese archipelago include the following islands in order of size:

Rhodes, Karpathos, Kos, Kalimnos, Astypalaia, Kassos, Tilos, Symi, Leros, Nisiros,Patmos, Chalki, Saria, Lipsi, Pserimos, Agathonisi, Levitha, Kastelorizo. However, the Dodecanese Prefecture also engulfs numerous smaller islands and islets in its chain, some of which are: Arki, Telendos, Farmakonisi, Makronisi and a plethora of others.